New Laws Passed for Texas Drivers

Posted by

New Laws Passed for Texas Drivers

New laws passed for Texas drivers will go into effect this Labor Day weekend,  September 1, 2013. Be prepared for the new non-emergency laws passed by the Texas Legislature. Owens Investigations thought we would share a few of them with you so you will not be caught off guard. Be safe on the roads and remember the new laws as you are spending time on the road during the Labor Day weekend.

 

Cell Phones in School Zones – HB 347

With schools back in session, everyone is being cautious to not use their cell phone in school zones.  Texas already prohibits cellphone use behind the wheel in school zones unless the vehicle is stopped or a hands-free device is being used by the driver. The law in HB 347 has now been extended to include all school property, including parking lots and drop off lanes in efforts to curb distracted parents picking up and dropping off their children or distracted student drivers. There are still exceptions for stopped vehicles and hands-free devices. Fines up to $200 to will be assessed for violators.

Passing a School Bus – HB 1174

HB 1174 increases the fines for drivers who pass a stopped school bus loading or unloading children. The minimum fine increases from $200 to $500 and the maximum fine from $1,000 to $1,250. The penalty for repeat offenders also increases.

Two License Plates – HB 625

HB 625 clarifies that the penalty for operating a vehicle on a public highway without displaying the two license plates assigned to the vehicle is a misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine not to exceed $200.

Proof of Insurance – SB 181 

This new bill, SB 181 allows you the option of using a wireless communication device to display motor vehicle financial responsibility information as evidence of financial responsibility. The display does not constitute effective consent for a law enforcement officer, or any other person, to access the contents of the wireless communication device except to view the financial responsibility information.

 Hit & Run – SB 275

SB 275 increases the penalty for leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident resulting in the death of a person and failing to render aid from a third-degree felony to a second-degree felony. A second degree felony carries a punishment of two to 20 years in prison and an optional fine not to exceed $10,000, whereas a third degree felony carries a penalty of two to 10 years in prison and an optional fine not to exceed $10,000.

Move Over – Slow Down – SB 510

SB 510 extends the “move-over” law now to Texas Department of Transportation vehicles. Motorists area already required to yield to police, fire, tow trucks and emergency vehicles. Now drivers will be required to move over or slow down when approaching a stationary Texas Department of Transportation vehicle with its lights activated and not separated from the roadway by a traffic-control device. Violators would commit a misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine of up to $200; punishable by a fine of $500 if property damage occurs; or a Class B misdemeanor if the violation results in bodily damage.

—-

Karol is the Director of Community Relations and Social Media for Owens Investigations.

 

Related posts:

Infidelity Phone Aids in Cheating on your Spouse
Do You Know Who You Are Dating?
12 Days of Christmas Tips - Day 9: Most Popular Toys
Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google PlusVisit Us On Linkedin